For the Betterment of the World by Jeremiah Cain

A quarter of the haggard populace must flee, hide, or die when they face the question: what do you do when your own home declares you wicked and demands your death?

Within this dark epic fantasy, the largest church of a medieval-like empire condemns a minority church as evil. Soon, a soldier struggles with orders to kill, as he must decide if what is “right” can change by Church decree.

A normal townswoman must fight as her people are sentenced to death in the empire where they’ve lived all their lives.

Far away, two men from conflicting nations attempt to forge a relationship while trying to forge an alliance.

Farther still, an elf boy sees the destruction of his peaceful home for nothing but a would-be weapon.

Finally, a small nation must call on the Dark for help when the Light betrays them.

Throughout the world of Perdinok, a range of people have their lives upended as unrest turns to civil war and turns to war on other nations. In the end, the sanctimonious empire unearths an ancient power that threatens all. Only a Demoness can put things right, but she holds her own agenda.

The Dragons and the Snakes by David Kilcullen

Enter for your chance to win 1 of 5 finished copies of THE DRAGONS AND THE SNAKES: How the Rest Learned to Fight the West by David Kilcullen!

In THE DRAGONS AND THE SNAKES, eminent soldier-scholar David Kilcullen asks how, and what, opponents of the West have learned during the last quarter-century of conflict. Applying a combination of evolutionary theory and detailed field observation, he explains what happened to the "snakes"-non-state threats including terrorists and guerrillas-and the "dragons"-state-based competitors such as Russia and China. He explores how enemies learn under conditions of conflict, and examines how Western dominance over a very particular, narrowly-defined form of warfare since the Cold War has created a fitness landscape that forces adversaries to adapt in ways that present serious new challenges to America and its allies.

THE DRAGONS AND THE SNAKES will not only reshape our understanding of the West's enemies' capabilities, but will also show how we can respond given the increasing limits on US power.

Dead Land by Sara Paretsky

Enter for your chance to win an Advance Reader's Edition of DEAD LAND by Sara Paretsky!

Chicago may be the city of broad shoulders, but its political law is “Pay to Play.” Money changes hands in the middle of the night, and by morning, buildings and parks are replaced by billion-dollar projects.

Chicago PI V.I. Warshawski gets pulled into one of these clandestine deals through her impetuous goddaughter, Bernie Fouchard. Bernie tries to rescue Lydia Zamir, a famed singer-songwriter now living on the streets; Zamir’s life fell apart when her lover was murdered next to her in a mass shooting at an outdoor concert. Not only does Bernie plunge her and V.I. headlong into the path of some ruthless developers, they lead to the murder of the young man Bernie is dating. He’s a computer geek working for a community group called SLICK.

V.I. is desperate to find a mysterious man named Coop, who roams the lakefront in the middle of the night with his dog. She’s sure he holds the key to the mounting body count within SLICK. Coop may even know why an international law firm is representing the mass murderer responsible for Lydia’s lover’s death. Instead, the detective finds a terrifying conspiracy stretching from Chicago’s parks to a cover-up of the dark chapters in America’s meddling in South American politics. Before she finds answers, this electrifying novel pushes V.I. close to the breaking point: People who pay to play take no prisoners.

No PO Boxes please

Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Night Olivia Fell—an “emotionally charged mystery” (Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author)—comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets…and their deadly potential.

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell’s I Found You and Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of Her, BEHIND EVERY LIE explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

Summer Secrets by Jill Sanders

Summer camp is for lovers in this fun, sexy read from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Sanders.

For Hannah Rodgers, running an adult summer camp with her four best friends is the ideal distraction from her controlling family. She’s worked hard to become her own woman, but now her parents want to marry her off for business reasons. What is this, the Middle Ages? Hannah would much rather enjoy the sunny delights of camp and flirt with Owen Costa, the hunky help.

But Owen has his own scheme working behind those beautiful brown eyes: he and his brothers finagled camp jobs with the hope of tracking down their father, an eccentric billionaire prone to sudden disappearances. Though Owen was suspicious of the new camp owners at first, his relationship with Hannah deepens, and he gets waylaid from his mission.

But Owen’s troubles soon resurface, and duty calls him away just as Hannah shares a delicate secret, leaving her shattered. Can they get over their complicated lives long enough to enjoy the romance they both want?

Love in Every Season by Debra Fileta

Enter for a chance to win a FREE copy of "Love in Every Season" by author and licensed professional counselor Debra Fileta. Whether you’re single, dating, engaged or married, join author, counselor, and relationship expert Debra Fileta, creator of TrueLoveDates.com, as she takes you on an eye-opening psychological and spiritual journey through the four seasons of every healthy relationship.

Just Do You; Authenticity, Leadership, & Your Personal Brand by Lisa King

Enter for a chance to win one of 10 copies of signed copies of Just Do You; Authenticity, Leadership, & Your Personal Brand.

Lisa King takes you on a powerful journey of self-examination and self-discovery to help you connect with the amazing and authentic leader within yourself.

In Just Do You, you’ll find everything you need to:
• Learn about the power of branding and see how
your personal brand is viewed today
• Discover your True North and how your brand intersects with what matters
• See how to lead with authenticity and build influence
• Gain the tools to live, behave, and share your unique brand with the world
• Find your unique purpose, which is key to happiness

Are you ready to become the kind of leader you wish you had? It doesn’t matter where you’re starting from. Because as a developing leader, you have the power: it’s time to make your mark, lead, and Just Do You!

The Eighth Master by J.D. Rutherford


Someone is going to die and it won't be an accident.

Here is what other goodread members have said: "It was really, really good!"
-"Great combination of elements... wine country, art and architecture."
-"The author did a great job keeping me guessing...."

If you have been looking for a meaty book that will demand your attention and may manage to keep you guessing to the end, enter today.